Geek Out: March Madness Edition

Posted on March 14, 2013

0


I don’t watch basketball but these are the things I have march madness nerd fever out over this month!

Anita Sarkeesian

Since being funded in a highly controversial Kickstarter last year, Anita and her team have been doing massive amounts of research. The critical theory nerd in me is thrilled to see just how detailed they’re getting in these videos.

Tropes vs Women in Video Games – Yay! The first installment in this has finally come out and it’s just as brilliant as I hoped it would be. The creator took A LOT of grief when first trying to get funding for the project but I’m so glad she fought through the abusers to produce what will for sure be a cornerstone in studying how woman are portrayed in video games. Until I started pointing things out to my husband (like how few female playable characters there are in games) he was totally oblivious. Because he’s a MAN!! We have to start standing up for ourselves ladies and demanding that video games be JUST PLAIN GOOD, instead of only for girls or guys. Also FTW here’s an insightful article about the gaming industry by a gamer journalist. I’d love to hear your thoughts about the video or the article. Or about girls and gaming in general. (Trolls beware, I will delete your comments.)

Bioshock Infinite – Speaking of video games, I have been patiently waiting for this to come out -since like forever- and finally it will arrive on March 26!!! Although yes I wish the main character you play was female instead of your side kick, hopefully she will be complex and as well writing as the other Bioshock games. I’ll post more about my thoughts on the game after it arrives and I dive into it. In the meantime, I’ve been trying to replay the first two, although I’m stuck at the super creepy level of the first one right now. (You know with the killer artist guy. The ick factor is high on that area.)

NorWesCon – I’ll be in Seattle at the end of March/beginning of April for NorWesCon where they announce the P.K. Dick awards each year. I was asked to attend as a Pro and I’m pretty excited about the panels I’m on. Although I’m also a little nervous about being the only girl on all the comics panels I was put on. Hopefully things will go smoothly and it will be a nice discussion… but sometimes people (read-men) don’t like girls mucking about in their beloved comics, what with all our opinions and all. I’ll post up my schedule separately and during the convention I’ll be blogging about how it’s going. So stay tuned for that!

Black Milk Clothing – This is the australian site that has the super cool R2D2 swimsuit or Tetris leggings (sadly no longer available) and a ton of other nerdtastic printed clothes. Now, would I ever wear a dress that tight in public? Heck, no but kudos to the girl who can. Their leggings however are fantastic and as someone who had a pair of black spandex leggings from high school that lasted for 7 years, they’re totally worth the money. The shipping is free and a bunch of the girls from the pole studio banded together to make a big order. These are the ones I got and I’m FREAKING excited for them to arrive. Not only will they look awesome for dancing in, but I will totally wear these with other stuff. I’m already planning a big, comfy sweater dress for geeking it up all over San Francisco over these leggings. The art nouveau ones I really wanted are out of stock right now but they’ll be next on the list as will these mermaid leggings.

Blue Tips - Colored Hair

Frostburned by Patricia Briggs – I realized the next book in this series was out because I saw someone reading it on the bus ride home last week. But the first bookstore I stopped in after that realization didn’t have it. I know I could just buy the ebook, but I have the others in hardback so I kind of want this one to match it. Maybe this weekend we’ll stop in somewhere more likely to have it. (Although I thought the bookstore in the Haight would have a much larger SF/F section.) I’ll probably speed through it because I love the Mercy Thompson series, so look for a proper review later.

Colored Hair – I’ve lived in San Francisco long enough, I want to color my hair some unnatural color. After looking around on Pinterest for only a few minutes I found this picture and fell in love with it. It’s subtle but still funky cool. I think I’m even going to cut my bangs too. Hopefully this will happen next week and I’ll try to post a picture on Facebook of what it looks like.

